Brazil Public Holidays 2017

brazil

More Events

Brazilian public holiday are observed nationwide. However, many states and cities in Brazil have their own holidays also. Brazil holidays are legislated at the federal, state and municipal.

Some Christian festivals are observed as holidays in this country. The other holidays are derived from certain important events happened with Brazilian history.

Brazil Holidays 2017

Below is the calculation of public holiday in Brazil for the year 2017. Note that this is not a Brazil’s official calendar of holidays. Therefore, we do not and can not guarantee the accuracy of Brazil 2017 calendar holidays available.

New Year’s Day
Ano Novo
The first day of the year according to Gregorian calendar.
Tuesday, 1 January 2017

Carnival
Carnaval e Quarta-feira de Cinzas
Carnivals on two days preceding Ash Wednesday.
Monday, 11 February 2017
Tuesday, 12 February 2017

Ash Wednesday
40 days before Easter, not counting Sundays.
Wednesday, 13 February 2017

Good Friday
Sexta-feira Santa
Commemorates the cruxifixion of Jesus Christ.
Friday, 29 March 2017

Easter
Pascoa
Celebrates the resurrection of Jesus Christ.
Sunday, 1 April 2017

Tiradentes’ Day
Commemorates the anniversary of a national martyr – Tiradentes – in 1792.
Sunday, 21 April 2017

Labour Day
Dia do Trabalho
Celebrates the achievements of the workers and the labour movement.
Wednesday, 1 May 2017

Corpus Christi
A day to honor the Eucharist
2nd Thursday after Whitsun
Thursday, 30 May 2017

Independence Day
Dia da Independencia
Celebrates Brazil’s Independence from Portugal in 1822.
Saturday, 7 September 2017

Our Lady of Aparecida
Nossa Senhora de Aparecida
Commemorates Virgin Mary as Patron Saint of Brazil.
Saturday, 12 October 2017

All Souls Day
Dia de Finados
Commemorates the faithful departed.
Saturday, 2 November 2017

Proclamation of the Republic Day
Proclamacao da Republica
Commemorates the proclamation of Brazillian Republic in 1889.
Friday, 15 November 2017

Christmas Day
Natal
Celebrates the birthday of Jesus Christ
Wednesday, 25 December 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *